Home Page World War II Armed Forces — Orders of Battle and Organizations Last Updated 19.12.2012
British, Colonial, and Dominion Armies
With thanks to David A. Ryan, Graham Watson, and Robert Michel
Council of Defence, New Zealand Army, Peacetime Administrative Organization
3 September 1939
Prime Minister Rt. Hon. M.J. Savage
Minister of Defence Hon. F. Jones
Minister of Finance Hon. W. Nash
Chief of the Naval Staff Com  H.E. Horan R.N.
Chief of the General Staff MG  J.E. Duigan N.Z.S.C.
Chief of the Air Staff GrpCpt  H.W.L. Sanders R.A.F.
Secretary to the Treasury Mr. B.C. Ashwin
Permanent Head, Prime Minister's Dept. Mr. C.A. Berendsen C.M.Q.
Secretary LTC  W.G. Stevens R.N.Z.A.
The details in this list based on information (corrected generally to 28.04.1939) supplied by the Goverment of the Dominion of New Zealand.
Return To Previous Page Abbreviations Ranks