Home Page World War II Armed Forces — Orders of Battle and Organizations Last Updated 15.04.2006
British, Colonial, and Dominion Armies
With thanks to David A. Ryan, Graham Watson, and Robert Michel
Headquarters, South Midland Area, Southern Command
3 September 1939
South Midland Area
Headquarters: Oxford
Comprising the Countries of Warwickshire, Northamptonshire, Huntingdonshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire (except Windsor for regular troops and that portion of the Country included in the Aldershot Command), Oxfordshire, Gloucestershire (expect Bleachley) and Worcestershire.
    General Staff Officer, 3rd grade Hon. CPT  B.T. Foss
    Dep. Asst. Adjt. & Qr.-Mr.-Gen. MAJ  A.G. Little
    Asst. Dir. of Medical Services COL   C.M. Finny (also of  Southern Area)
    Dep. Asst. Dir. of Hygiene MAJ  L.R.H. Keatinge (also of  Southern Area)
    Retired Officer LTC  J.J. Powell
    Passive Air Defence Officer MAJ  H.K.F. Nailler
Return To Previous Page Symbols Abbreviations Ranks