Home Page World War II Armed Forces — Orders of Battle and Organizations Last Updated 24.02.2020
Netherlands East Indies, Mobilized Order of Battle
In cooperation with M.J. Lohnstein and Stellan Bojerud
Territorial Command — Timor and Dependencies, Royal Netherlands East Indies Army
12 December 1941
Territoriaal Commando Timor en Onderhorigheden
It had been agreed at the Second Four-Power Staff Conference in Singapore on 22.02.1941 that Australia would assume the defense of Timor and Ambon in case of war. Units on Dutch Timor would be under Australian control, and those on Ambon under Dutch control.

Australian Army ground units quickly arrived at Koepang, Timor (Sparrow Force) on 12.12.1941, and Ambon, Moluccas (Gull Force) on 17.12.1941, helped by the fact that advance parties and most of their supplies were already in place. Artillery, vehicles, bombs, ammunition, aviation fuel, radios, and general stores had been prepositioned there during the proceeding months.
Previous Page
Sparrow Force